Sister Act Musical [Review]

Sister Act Musical [Review]

Sing Hallelujah for the all new production of Sister Act starring Alexandra Burke 

An all new production of the Broadway and West End smash hit musical comedy returns to the UK starring Alexandra Burke* (The X Factor, The Bodyguard)

Directed and choreographed by Craig Revel Horwood, Sister Act is the feel-amazing musical comedy based on the smash hit movie starring Whoopi Goldberg and Maggie Smith.

SiSTER ACT


Featuring original music by Tony® and 8-time Oscar® winner Alan Menken (Disney’s Aladdin, Beauty and the Beast, Newsies, Enchanted), dazzling dance routines and songs inspired by Motown, soul and disco, Sister Act is the funniest and funkiest musical around.

Sister Act tells the hilarious story of Deloris Van Cartier, a disco diva whose life takes a surprising turn when she witnesses a murder. Under protective custody she is hidden in the one place she won’t be found – a Convent!  Disguised as a nun and under the suspicious watch of Mother Superior, Deloris helps her fellow sisters find their voices as she unexpectedly rediscovers her own. A sparkling tribute to the universal power of friendship, sisterhood and music.

SISTER ACT

My thoughts

So unbelievably excited about getting to see this show!
 
After watching it many times on VHS and DVD oh yes I went old style on you!
 

And throwing it back just a little more seems fitting

Have A dance along and be taken to heaven with the pitches, there are no words.
 
Sister Mary Clarence whipped them tunes into shape.
 
Hallelujah! And I can say Alexandra Burke really can hit the high notes!
 
Alexandra Burke has taken to Whoopie Goldberg’s role like a duck to water, spread her wings and helped the church fly high.
 
The film in contrast to the musical is similar but on a funnier level. There are many things to enjoy and the ensemble all gel excellently together.
 
There was also added extras added into the mix sweaty Eddy if you know what I mean lol
 
Sister Act Musical
4-out-of-5-stars-rating

I would have to give this show four out of five stars; there is always room for extra pitches

 

27 Comments

  1. 9th January 2017 / 9:19 PM

    This sounds great. Glad to see that you enjoyed it

  2. 10th January 2017 / 8:05 AM

    I saw Alexandra Burke in The Bodyguard and thought she was great. I’d love to watch this, heard great things about it. Jo x

  3. 10th January 2017 / 8:12 AM

    4/5 stars is excellent! Glad you had fun girl. I need to go out to the theatre more!

  4. 10th January 2017 / 9:46 AM

    I loved the films so I’ll have to get tickets to see this x

  5. 10th January 2017 / 10:53 AM

    This sounds like a great fresh version of one of my old favourites. I really like Alexandra Burke – She can definitely belt out a number!

  6. 10th January 2017 / 11:27 AM

    I love the film so a stage production I am sure would be just amazing x

  7. 10th January 2017 / 12:12 PM

    This sounds great I loved the films and I would love to see it recreated on the stage x

  8. Jessica McDonnell
    10th January 2017 / 12:42 PM

    This sounds like such a great musical – my parents have already booked tickets, I wish I was going with them.

  9. 10th January 2017 / 4:19 PM

    I really enjoyed the film Sister Act, I’ve watched it many times over the years actually. I would enjoy seeing a stage production of this as well.

  10. 10th January 2017 / 4:37 PM

    Oh wow! I absolutely love this film! I’m planning on a trip to London, this is a must see!

  11. nicol
    10th January 2017 / 7:54 PM

    oh my, i love sister act and would love to watch this one day. alexandra has a wonderful voice

  12. 10th January 2017 / 8:41 PM

    Oh i love musicals and its years since i was last at one! This sounds so good though and i love Alexandra!

  13. 10th January 2017 / 9:32 PM

    I’d love to see this as Sister Act is one of my all time favourite movies, plus I am a sucker for seeing musicals!

  14. 10th January 2017 / 9:42 PM

    I love the movie and have watched it loads of times over the years so I would love to go and see this.

  15. 11th January 2017 / 5:17 AM

    I loved the movie! I, too, watched it on VHS… I probably still have mine somewhere. I so wish I could go see this!

  16. 11th January 2017 / 9:24 AM

    Can you believe that I’ve actually never seen Sister Act as the movie. Got to love a musical though x

  17. 11th January 2017 / 11:27 AM

    Alexandra Burke is a great singer and if anyone can fill Whoopi Goldberg’s role its her. I would like to see it in the West End.

  18. 11th January 2017 / 2:57 PM

    I love the original film, and I can really imagine Alexandra Burke being good in Whoopi Goldberg’s role!

  19. 11th January 2017 / 4:14 PM

    The film is one of my absolute favourites and having seen Alexandra Burke in The Bodyguard, I would love to see her in this role. Maybe later in the year I will be lucky enough x

  20. 11th January 2017 / 8:59 PM

    I would love to see Sister Act as I love the movie! 🙂

  21. 12th January 2017 / 6:37 AM

    Looks like a great performance. I bet you had a lovely time watching it x

  22. 12th January 2017 / 12:28 PM

    Sounds brilliant! Alexandra’s great isnt she? Doing so well for herself!

  23. 12th January 2017 / 5:16 PM

    This looks and sounds very interesting, I think Alexandra Burke have some amazing songs and she’s so pretty! I had no idea she was starring in a play x

  24. 13th January 2017 / 6:23 AM

    Now this is a musical I have got to see! I love the movie and I can imagine Alexandra is really good as the lead role. Will do a weekend to see it.

  25. 13th January 2017 / 12:04 PM

    Ooh I love Sister Act! Alexandra Burke is really talented too.

  26. 14th January 2017 / 6:04 PM

    I have such a soft spot for a musicals, ( but not when i am hangover lol)

  27. Laura H
    15th January 2017 / 10:25 PM

    I loved Alexandra Burke on the X Factor but had no idea she was starring in this show! She is a great singer so I’d love to watch this 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *